Three weeks in the Bear House Farm

I’m Abel Otero, a spanish student. I arrived at Bristol Airport July 1st 2012 where my teacher, Shona Brown was waiting me.


I stayed doing the course Teacher’s house 2:1 in the Bear House Farm. My house was near to Wedmore, a little village in the country. I lived with Shona, John (her husband), Mikkel (student from Denmark) and only during the first week, Shona’s daughter was with us.

Our course had 45 hours divided in 15 hours per week. In my opinion these lessons were very quickly and also, I enjoyed while I was learning new things. Furthermore, Shona helped me prepare for my FCE exams.

We always tried to make easy the lessons with different things (eg. Watching videos, doing speaking games…) There were in the mornings.

In the afternoon, sometimes we had free-time and others we went to some cities or villages (Bristol, Frome, Wells). Moreover, during the week-ends we visited others cities such as Bath or the Air Army Museum as a suggestion that I said because of loving aircrafts.

On the other hand, we were in a Jazz Festival since the Danish student likes music. Also, the last night we went to Wells Cathedral to heart a classical music concert.

In my opinion, these three weeks for me were the best in my life and I recommend to people who are in doubt to come because they will have a nice time with another family learning and speaking English.


My stay in Edinburgh with Rossana

I´m going to talk about my staying in Edinburgh with living learning English in Rossana´s house. I arrived on Friday the 15th of June with my parents and I stayed in a hotel in the centre of Edinburgh and I visited some important and amazing places there on the weekend. The 17th of June Rossana picked us up from our hotel to her house. I stayed there one day putting my clothes in my wardrobe and watching some interesting English´s programmes on TV. With respect to my lessons I have done different grammar activities, some reading, listening, speaking exercises and two or three writings in order to prepare the First Certificate exam. During my staying in Edinburgh I have done some excursions like going to San Andrews with Rossana´s family, I went to a beach in a small and beautiful village near Edinburgh, and I also been to a mountain close to the city, and I have been in an Edinburgh tour with Rossana. I have done some different activities with Rossana´s children like going to the last Harry Potter´s film. In conclusion has been a very good experience and I had improved my English. Regarding the family environment I was so happy with them. Thank you so much to Rossana and the organization for help to me during the fifteen days in July.



My days in Manchester

I spent two weeks in Manchester with a beautiful family. I chose 25 hours a week and this course was very usefull for improving my English. Staying in teacher’s house was helpfull to know better each other and to model lessons on my needs. People in the North of England are very kind, friendly and disponsable to help you. I enjoyed this experience very much and I hope to do it again!