An unforgettable experience

CambridgeFish and chipsThe Miller's barn with BenMy birthday party  

Hello,

My name is Cristina, I’m from Spain and I’m 20 years old. I’ m going to tell you a little bit about my wonderful experience in Ipswich, England, where I stayed for three weeks.

My host mother, and also my English teacher, is called Michelle Miller. She lives with her husband Jeremy, and they have two sons, Tom and Ben, who come from time to time to visit their parents because they´re both working in London and Canterbury, respectively. They also have a very friendly cat called Tigger. They are a lovely family who make you feel like you’re at home from the beginning.

I really like their house, which is actually a converted thatched barn from the 1580s. It’s a very peaceful place to live because it is surrounded by fields with stunning views and lovely sunsets.

My room was very warm and I had spectacular views of the fields through my window.

Every morning I had class for three hours. It can sound like so many hours, but honestly, they were very enjoyable. Michelle is a really good teacher with very entertaining activities and useful methods in which you learn a lot without realising it.

After having lunch, we went on excursions to many different places nearby our house such as Lavenham, Dedham, London, Cambridge, etc. We did some lovely routes on foot and by bike. Excursions are another way of learning new vocabulary and some interesting history and way of life of England. I couldn’t even choose my favourite excursion because each one was different and really interesting.

The food was delicious and I also went to some typical English pubs to have “Fish and chips” and met some of Michelle`s friends.

This has been my first stay in England and I’m really sure that  it isn’t my last one. I’m really looking forward to coming back again. I’m very pleased for having met this family and I highly recommend this experience. Undoubtedly for me, this is the best way to improve your English!

 

 

Our two fantastic weeks with Ella

Hello everybody !
-My name is Anna. I’m  from Japan, in Tokyo. I’m 11 years old.
– I’m Elise, I live in France, in Cherbourg and I’m 13 years old.
We both went in Margate, in Kent at Ella’s home. She was our teacher for this two weeks.
Her, her husband Jim, her daughters Alexandra and Alena and her dog Betsy was really, really nice.
We did a lot of things, such as tennis, mini-golf, shopping. We also visited Deal castle, Walmer castle and Dover castle. Dover Castle was the most impressive.
We went to the folk festival of Broadstairs, saw a film in the cinema, visited some museums, went to the Canterbury Cathedral and visited the Shell grotto of Margate.
The last one was a grotto with only shells : on the ceiling, on the walls, everywhere !
Absoluty beautiful !
And finally we saw an exhibition of Mondrian. It was very interesting ! And it was his real paintings !!!

But this is about the excursions ! Because every morning, we had lessons : 3 hours every days. But her lessons was interesting : we did a lot of language games… For example, we had to mime some situations, to memorise some pictures,etc…
So we enjoyed our lessons.

And her house was huge and nice. We had a lot of fun with Betsy the dog who liked have tans. Ella also have a table to play table tennis and a piano.

So we had a really good time with Jim (who was very nice), Ella (who was very funny) and Alexandra (who played table tennis and computer games with us ). Alena was with us just for a couple of days, so we don’t really know her…

And we forgot to tell that we baked two cakes : a poppy cake and a chocolate cake. They were both exquisite !

So we loved our course with Ella and her family. We recommend it !!!DSC07710 DSC07712 DSC07713 IMG_1035 IMG_1048

Great GB

My name is Timur and I’m from Russia, Ufa. I have had three very nice  weeks living with the Roxburgh family near Newhnam. I really enjoyed this trip. The second student’s name was Remy, a very friendly and clever boy. The Roxburgh family gave me a lot of experience in their house and out.Together we visited Chepstow Castle, Cardiff, Bristol, Gloucester and London. It was my first time in GB and I can’t believe how much I have learned.  I want to say Thanks for everyone in Living learning’s staff and family Roxburgh for made this trip unbelievable.                GOPR0856

 

My nice experience in Blackwell!

DSCN9919My name is Ferran Pau Capdevila and I am from Barcelona. I passes a very nice two weeks living in Blackwell, a little village near Birmingham. I really enjoyed my trip because was my first time in England and is an amazing country.

I have been with a very kind, friendly and happy family and I improved my english a lot. Also we visited interesting places like Oxford colleges, Worcester Foregate, Stratford or the Air Force Museum in Cosford.

In summary, it was one of the best and most useful experience of my life and I strongly recommend to everyone learn english with “Living Learning English” because is the best way to improve your english quickly.DSCN9953 DSCN9970

 

Fantastic English course in Cardiff !

Hello,

These two weeks that I have spent in Cardiff have been great! The English classes “one to one” with my lovely teacher Kath, very good. Cardiff is very nice. It’s a place worth a visit. The people are very friendly, the food is very good and there are many places to go sightseeing. It has been a fantastic experience!

My 2 weeks in Poole

I have had 2 fun weeks in Poole.  I stayed with Jayne and Matin Jackson and their baby daughter Ariya. We saw ‘Cats’ the musical, went shopping in Poole, Castlepoint and Bournemouth and visited Salisbury and Stone Henge as well as other things.I had classes were well I learned many new words.  The food was delicious.   It was pretty fun because we went on interesting trips. I particularly enjoyed my birthday which I spent in London.   I was given a cake at home. The family are lovely and they have creatures such as 2 cats, a dog and 2 turtles. The room was quite comfortable. The house is nice and spacious. I really liked the sea, the beach and the time I spent there. I also really liked the concert Cats, I received many wonderful memories.

Great Stay!

Hello,

My name is Inna, I’m from Russia, I am 17 and this letter is about my first trip to England.

All started when I came to the Comyns’ home, this is a very friendly and nice family in a delightful town called Stratford Upon-Avon. People here are always smiling and the streets are mesmerizing silenced.

It is hard to describe what happened to me during these three weeks, a lot of new places, people  and emotions.

I especially remember three places: the theatre, the church where William Shakespeare is  buried and  the National Art Gallery  in London.

I will not describe in detail to satisfy this wonderful experience that I just had – you can see my movie here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d0dPJcUL1Bk

All in all, I can say that I’ll never  forget this time.

Thank so much

A French boy in Stratford Upon-Avon

Hi my name is Theo, I’m 15 and I come from France in a town near Geneva.  This is my 3rd stay in  England.

I have really enjoyed to do this experience because we have seen a lot of beautiful things, but my favourite place is the Air force Museum. It’s amazing to see so many planes.

Stratford is a good place for visiting because it is a city with a lot of history.

My family was very good too, we have been able to talk a lot with them because they are very opened and funny.

You can see my movie here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ngjM_7Q9mv8

Our trip to England

DSCN7188  DSCN6924

Hello there! We are Juan and Valentyna, from Spain and Ukraine respectively. We are both 19 years old and we spent a month together in England. The first two weeks were living at Maria Moustaka’s house in London. Every morning we had class, and after having lunch, we went to museums, palaces, landmarks, popular markets, etc. We agreed with Maria the excursions that we would do with it. She took us to places unknown to us: Kenwood House and near Greenwich. We also went to the cinema and a concert in Canary Wharf. 

Before all this, I was worried about the experience of living with the teacher. And finally I loved, the room much better than I expected and Maria was very kind with us. Also the food was delicious. I got used to the UK schedule/timetable soon. 

Then, we spent at Kate Irving’s house the last two weeks in St Albans. It is a town north of London, 20 minutes by train. You can’t compare the two cities, as London offers many more things to do and enjoy. However, Kate helped us spend two amazing weeks. She took us to see a real live trial and explained to us how the justice worked in the UK. Another day, we went to Cambridge where we could see the different colleges and faculties and we got surprised of the education system because it’s very different to our countries ones. We visited Waddesdon Manor, which is one of several houses that the famous and wealthy Rothschild family owns. 

As Maria did, Kate treated us very well and were delighted to meet her family. She lives with her husband Peter, and has three children, whom we met. We went to pub quizzes and we won! I recommend this course.