Hayna’s stay with Michelle

I’m so happy to have chosen to do my course with Living Learning English.
They were very supportive and always answered my emails quickly.
I’ve spent a week with Michelle and Jeremy at Jermyns Barn, in Suffolk. Everything’s been perfect! I’ve got a wonderful family, they really make me feel  at home and the excursions have been lovely!
It’s been only a week, but it’s amazing to see how much I’ve improved. I’ve really got to grips with my pronunciation (I’ve just learned this idiom 🙂 ).
We’ve visited a typical English village called Dedham to have tea and cake. We’ve been to the cinema, I’ve tried the Fish and Chips, which I loved, and last night we had such a great time at a local Irish pub, which was interesting because there’s nothing like it in Brazil!
Today is my last day and we are going to Ipswich to have lunch, it’s sad but I need to go back to Brazil…I’ll miss everything here…hope to come back!

Hayna – Brazil

Local Irish pub

Hayna Michelle Jeremy pub

Hayna in DedhamHayna Dedham 2Hayna and Tigger

Hayna and Michelle lesson


Noriko’s Wonderful Stay in Wallingford

My name is Noriko and I came from Japan. I have spent ten days with Shan and Andrew in Wallingford.

The lessons were very helpful and wonderful. I found my English improved a lot. I also had cooking lessons with Shan’s husband Andrew and I really enjoyed them.

I have visited many places. I have been to Blenheim Palace. It is the first world heritage site I have been to. It is a spectacular Baroque building with gorgeous gardens.

I also have been to Oxford and had a tour of the colleges. Christ Church College and cathedral were magnificent.

On Tuesday I listened to a fascinating lecture on China by Jonathan Fenby.

This afternoon I am visiting Henley and tomorrow we are going to visit Windsor Castle.

I have had many good experiences. I really want to say thank you to Shan and Andrew.

Noriko 1Noriko BakingNoriko by the river

Vavara’s brilliant stay in Wallingford

Two weeks in Wallingford.

My name is Vavara, I’m 10. I come from Russia.

I had two weeks with Shan and Andrew. It was interesting. The lessons were very helpful. I enjoyed writing about my visits in my journal. I went to many interesting places. We took lots of photos in Wallingford, Henley, Oxford Colleges and London.

In London I went to the Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and I saw Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. Yesterday we went to Beale wildlife park and gardens. My favourite animals were the meerkats.

I had a brilliant time!

2015-06-11 14.50.302015-06-06 11.02.142015-06-06 09.22.482015-06-04 16.03.472015-06-04 14.34.462015-06-03 17.14.25

2015-06-09 11.06.192015-06-09 10.41.17


Lada’s stay with Sam

I am glad that I lived in England with host family. It good experience for me. My English has became better. I love my host family. We had a really good tine together.

I lived without my family in other country for 3 weeks. I have seen a different way of life for example living in a house and having a dog! We had so much fun and we visited lots of places together and I had cool English lessons and I tried lots of new, tasty, traditional English food  that isn’t in Russia.

I can talk faster and I can use the right words and use my tenses now and I can say more than 3 weeks ago. Thank you LLE!!!

Collette’s stay in Wallingford

Hi! My name’s Colette. I’m 13 years old nearly 14. I’m going to tell you what I did and what fun I had in Wallingford. My patner was a spanich girl: Neus. She was lovely and great fun. Two of the highlights of my stay were: fruitpicking and Kew Gardens. Fruitpicking was an unusual and different activity and Kew Gardens was wonderful because of the huge variety of plants and trees. In the house, I had a pretty bedroom with Wi-Fi. I enjoyed reading in the peaceful garden of the Harvey Family. In lessons, we did a lot of activities which made it interesting. Oh, and I can’t finish my revue without mentionning that Andrew’s meals were very tasty.

SAM_1978 SAM_2023 SAM_1974 SAM_1920 SAM_1902

Neus’ stay in Wallingford

Hello, my name’s Neus, I’m a thirteen-year-old spanish girl. I’ve spent three weeks in a very nice town near Oxford called Wallingford. I’ve stayed  with a flawless family and a french girl called Colette. She was very nice, kind, and great fun. Last summer I came here, in the same  time with the same family and I enjoyed so much, that this year I’ve come back.

In my opinion living this experience is the best way of improving your English in the same way you have great fun with an English family. I’ve enjoyed the afternoon outings, each has been different. The way our teacher, Shân taught us make the three hours of lessons very interesting, funny and go very quickly. No question that I enjoyed Saturday outings, we went to Kew Gardens, that was lovely!! And Andrew’s food was the best English food I’ve ever eaten, and I’m not exagerating at all!!

But the thing Iiked the most is the way Shân and Andrew treated us: as one of their family.


SAM_1902 SAM_1885 SAM_1920  SAM_1974 SAM_2023 SAM_1978


Review of the BBC tour, Bristol


The buildings of the BBC, the Broadcasting House Bristol, are located in Whiteladies Road, Clifton. It is very easy to get there as they are right at the top of Queens Road, in an interesting area of Bristol not far from the City Centre. The BBC has been in this location for 80 years now, as the first building (21/23 Whiteladies Road) was built in 1852 and has been in use for this purpose since 1934. The BBC in Bristol hosts, among other things, the offices and studios for the BBC Natural History Unit, BBC Radio Bristol and BBC West.

The tour lasts about 90 minutes and gives you the chance to visit a lot of places in the BBC campus, including the rooftop garden from where the weather forecast is broadcast on nice days the Radio Bristol studios, the Points West studio, and the journalists room. You can see people at work, discover how programmes are made and what goes behind the scenes.


  3 4 5


The tour is very interactive, as you can experience the making of sounds effects on the radio, have a go at recording your own radio drama and present the news and weather. We were accompanied by two experienced and kind tour guides, who explained us everything in a clear way and told us facts about some of the programmes broadcast at BBC Bristol.

To do a tour of the BBC Broadcasting House it is essential to pre-book. Regular tours take place on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Saturdays at 10.00am, 12.45pm and 3.15pm and each one takes a maximum of 16 people.


Adult £8.50 – (£9.25 from 1 April 2015)

Child (under 16 years) £6.50 – (£7.00 from 1 April 2015)

Teacher £6.50 – (£7.75 from 1 April 2015)


The excursion is very informative and fun, if you have never been in a radio or TV studio it makes you understand and learn a lot of new and interesting things, offering nice and instructive activities. Tour guides have been really kind and glad to answer to all our questions. We really enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone who wants to spend 2 hours in a different and entertaining way!

Children under the age of 10 are not admitted on the tour. It would be a great experience especially for teenagers who want to find out how TV programmes work behind the scenes.


Rosalia Ruggiero, Intern                                                                                                              09/03/2015

Graziano Aletta, Intern


6   7

  Radio Bristol Studios


8   9

Points West studio


10   11

Rooftop garden




Great Teacher!

Our son, Alexey, has been taking an Intensive English course with Annette Richardson for three weeks in July 2014. We deeply appreciate her high-level of teaching and training as well as her welcomed family for a warm and friendly atmosphere, our son was involved in.
We would like to emphasize our son’s spoken English became much better. In spite of the hard work, he really liked English programme and, of course, his tutor. Regular excursions and his free time which was spent in Annette’s family,  gave him a total, in-depth experience of English culture and unique help for learning.
We express our thanks one more time for Annette Richardson’s professionalism and comity of manner to our son as well as your school for organization of such an efficient programme. We are ready to give our best recommendations both to school and such a great teacher.
Oleg and Elena The Shurukhin’s

Luis Fernandez in Wales


Hello, I am Luis Fernandez Concellon. I am nineteen years old and I am a student of mechanical engineering in the University of Zaragoza (Spain).

I am in Tan-y-Garreg in Llangadfan (Wales) where my English teacher lives. I am improving my English.

I go to the gym three times a week that is in a Leisure Centre in Llanfair Caerenion (Wales).

Llanfair Caerenion is 9 miles from Tan-y-Garreg. I pay £3.80 per session so that I can use the equipment of the gym.

I spend one hour. I run about 20 minutes and then I work out the rest of the time. I usually work on back, shoulders, chest, biceps, triceps and upper body.

It is very good that I am able to keep to my exercise programme in Wales.